DekkoVAULT (sharing)

On this page:

Share files & folders | Review access | Upload new file version | Access logs

Sharing has the following features:

  • Share by link
  • Access expiration
  • Sharing notes
  • Sharing to multiple contacts
  • Individual access control

Sharing Files & Folders

Sharing from Dekko

After uploading files or folders to your Dekko Cloud, you are free to share these with any of your contacts, inside or outside Circles. To share a file or folder:

  1. Select the file or folder to share, then press “Share”:Screen Shot 2018-04-03 at 1.56.25 pm
      The sharing menu will open:

    Screen Shot 2018-04-03 at 1.08.55 pm

  2. Should you wish to have the access for the file or folder to expire, enter an expiry date. If note is required enter one, and then enter the contacts to share the file with. Contacts must already exist in your contacts list to enable sharing.
  3. Each contact can be given upload rights individually. This means that they can upload a new version of a file for collaboration purposes, and changes will be shown in the access log. If you grant upload rights for a folder, the recipient can upload new versions of the contained files but not alter the folder’s structure in any way.`
  4. Press “Save”, and the sharing process is complete.

Sharing via link

The link presented when you share a file or folder is a link to the file or folder, not a link to access it. Access to that file is set in the sharing menu and you must add recipients to the share list for them to be able to access it via the link.

If you are sharing a file/folder with someone in a Circle who is not already a Dekko user, send an invite to them in the Circle. Once they have registered, which you will be notified of in your DekkoMAIL inbox, you can share the file/folder with them by link. This link can be shared over any channel securely, because unless the log in details of the users whom the file/folder is shared with is know, it can’t be accessed.

Review Access

You can adjust individual access rights and sharing expiry at any time, and also stop sharing completely. To do this, select the shared file or folder and then press “Share”, then make the required changes in the sharing menu, then press “Save” to apply changes. To stop sharing of a file or folder completely, select it, and press “Stop sharing”.

Upload new file version

You can upload a new version of a file at any time as the owner of a file or receiver of a file that you have upload rights to. To upload a new file version:

  1. Select the file, then press the menu button on the right, then press “Upload”:Screen Shot 2018-04-03 at 1.04.18 pm
  2. Navigate to the new file in your file browser. All upload activity will be listed in the access log.

Screen Shot 2018-04-03 at 1.01.16 pm

Access Log

The Access log shows:

  • When a file was first shared
  • When a file is downloaded
  • When a file is updated
  • Who initiated each event for all of the above

To view the access log, select the file in question, press the menu button on the right, and then press “Logs”:

Screen Shot 2018-04-03 at 12.25.35 pm

Screen Shot 2018-04-03 at 12.47.01 pm

Back to documentation home page